Thursday, 26 November 2015

Book Review for "A Cat Called Alfie" by Rachel Wells





Author: Rachel Wells
Title: A cat called Alfie
Genre: Cats
Length: 400 Pages
Publication Date: 5th November 2015


Synopsis


**The follow-up to the smash-hit Sunday Times bestseller, ‘Alfie the Doorstep Cat’. Alfie’s back - and more adventurous than ever!**
Edgar Road used to be your typical London street; a road full of people who barely said a word to one another. Then Alfie came along – a big grey ball of fur who changed the lives of every family he met, and brought a community together.
But now a new family have moved into Edgar Road and they, more than anyone else, need Alfie’s help. Can he bring light to their darkest times? Or is it already too late to stop them from falling apart?
Warm, uplifting and inspiring, this is a book to remind us how a pet can change a life. The perfect read for fans of ‘A Street Cat Named Bob’ and ‘Alfie the Doorstep Cat’.


Review



This book is about (as you can imagine) a cat called Alfie and what he gets up to with his cat and human friends after a new family moves into their street.

He's not just an ordinary cat, he manages to get himself into all sorts of trouble while trying to help the cats and humans he loves.

This book is the second in the series about Alfie, the first book was called "Alfie the doorstep cat". 
I myself have not read the first book yet, but Rachel Wells the author is very good at letting you know everything about Alfie throughout the book.

While reading the book I found myself getting so involved in all the characters lives, it had me guessing throughout what might happen to a particular family or how Alfie would get himself out of his latest big idea.

Although Alfie and his friends get into a few scrapes here and there they also take on the challenge of getting all the families together and making everyone happy including the children.

One of my favourite parts in the story was when Alfie got himself involved in the children's' lives and helped them out while becoming a hero himself.

"Edgar Road used to be your typical London street; a road full of people who barely said a word to one another. Then Alfie came along – a big grey ball of fur who changed the lives of every family he met, and brought a community together".

This is the first time I have read a book about a cat or any other animal, but I have to say it was very enjoyable throughout, I laughed, I cried and felt I knew more about cats in general.
It's an all rounder for me and suitable for young adult readers as well as drama, fiction and romance, so on that basis I'm giving this book 5 stars.

"Warm, uplifting and inspiring, this is a book to remind us how a pet can change a life. The perfect read for fans of ‘A Street Cat Named Bob’ and ‘Alfie the Doorstep Cat".
Find out more about the Author Rachel Wells and all her books at her website, on her facebook page and her Twitter page






Certificates

More Posts You Might Like